Cooper Hewitt Wins 2015 Lucy G. Moses Preservation Award

February 17, 2016
Credit: John Bartelstone

The Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards are bestowed annually by the New York Landmarks Conservancy in recognition of the owners and stewards of historic buildings across the City, who completed extraordinary restoration and reuse projects. Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

Beyer Blinder Belle has been privileged to be involved with the redesign of the Cooper Hewitt from the earliest days of the planning process through the final restoration and reconstruction of the project. As a result of a successful collaboration among a skilled team of architects and specialty consultants, the Gilded Age mansion has been transformed into a modern museum facility worthy of the impressive collection of historic and contemporary design artifacts that it houses. Read more about the project here.

The New York Landmarks Conservancy has been a leader in preserving, restoring, and reusing New York City’s architectural legacy for over 40 years. The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation work. Named in honor of dedicated New Yorker Lucy G. Moses, the annual Awards have recognized hundreds of leaders, organizations, architects, crafts people, and building owners for their extraordinary contributions in preserving our City.

Read more, including the full list of 2015 Moses Awards.

John Bartelstone

Cooper-Hewitt, Mansion Exterior

John Bartelstone

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum, Great Hall.

Matt Flynn; Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum

Cooper Hewitt, Beautiful Users Exhibit

John Bartelstone

Krueger Grand Staircase

John Bartelstone

Cooper Hewitt Library